Category: Social Media

Facebook Restores Access After Second Outage in Less Than a Week

Facebook restored access to its social media website for most users on Monday afternoon, after its second outage in less than a week. According to Currentlydown.com, Facebook was down for about 42 minutes between 3pm ET (12:30am IST) and 4pm ET (1:30am IST). “We are currently restoring Facebook services that people had trouble accessing earlier […]

Facebook Adds 360-Degree Video to News Feed

Facebook on Wednesday began rolling out 360-degree viewing at the leading social network, letting people change their perspectives in specially created videos. “We’ve seen that people enjoy more immersive content in their News Feeds,” video engineering director Maher Saba said in a blog post. “We’re excited to take it a step further with 360-degree video.” […]

New System Can Check for Malware in Twitter URLs

Computer scientists from Cardiff University have created an intelligent system to identify malicious links disguised in shortened URLs on Twitter. The system could identify potential cyber-attacks with up to 83 percent accuracy within five seconds and with up to 98 percent accuracy within 30 seconds when a user clicked on a URL posted on Twitterand […]

PM Modi Gets Emotional at Facebook Q&A Recalling Childhood

Prime Minister Narendra Modi received a warm welcome at Facebook headquarters on Sunday for atown hall hosted by CEO Mark Zuckerberg that focused as much on the two men’s backgrounds as the business potential of the world’s second most-populous country. Modi’s voice broke as he described his humble beginnings. “I came from a very poor […]